The Sweetness of Water : Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize-9781472274373

The Sweetness of Water : Longlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize

Regular price
£18.99
Sale price
£18.99
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Free postage to the UK mainland

An extraordinary novel of life after slavery for readers of WASHINGTON BLACK, THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD and DAYS WITHOUT END. In the dying days of the American Civil War, newly freed brothers Landry and Prentiss find themselves cast into the world without a penny to their names. Forced to hide out in the woods near their former Georgia plantation, they're soon discovered by the land's owner, George Walker, a man still reeling from the loss of his son in the war.

When the brothers begin to live and work on George's farm, the tentative bonds of trust and union begin to blossom between the strangers. But this sanctuary survives on a knife's edge, and it isn't long before the inhabitants of the nearby town of Old Ox react with fury at the alliances being formed only a few miles away . .

[A] highly accomplished debut' Sunday Times Readers have been swept away by The Sweetness of Water: 'Such a powerful, magnificent book; I urge you to read it. The comparisons with Colson Whitehead are justified' *****'A staggering debut and a story that stays with you' *****'Thought-provoking and moving .

Author: Harris, Nathan, Binding: Hardback, Imprint: Tinder Press, Series: N/A, Publisher: Headline Publishing Group, Published: 15/06/2021, Pagination: 368 pages, Classification: Fiction & related items, Country of Publication: United Kingdom