The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook : a history of the Renaissance mathematics that birthed imaginary numbers, probability, and the new physics of the universe-9781911344407

The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook : a history of the Renaissance mathematics that birthed imaginary numbers, probability, and the new physics of the universe

Regular price
£16.99
Sale price
£16.99
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Free postage to the UK mainland

A book of science like no other, about a scientist like no other. This is a landmark in science writing. It resurrects from the vaults of neglect the polymath Jerome Cardano, a Milanese of the sixteenth century. Who is he? A gambler and blasphemer, inventor and chancer, plagued by demons and anxieties, astrologer to kings, emperors and popes. This stubborn and unworldly man was the son of a lawyer and a brothel keeper, but also a gifted physician and the unacknowledged discoverer of the mathematical foundations of quantum physics.

That is the argument of this charming and intoxicatingly clever book, which is truly original in its style, and in the manner of the modernists embodies in its very form its theories about the world. The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook is a science book with the panache of a novel, for readers of Carlo Rovelli or Umberto Eco. It is a work of and about genius.

Author: Brooks, Michael, Binding: Hardback, Imprint: Scribe Publications, Series: N/A, Publisher: Scribe Publications, Published: 12/10/2017, Pagination: 256 pages, Classification: Mathematics & science,